Our Blog Calendar Sign up for updates Donate

10th Annual Builders of the New New York Awards 6.23.14

Monday, June 23, 2014


Monday, June 23, 2014
6:00 p.m.
For gala tickets, ads and sponsorship opportunities:
on behalf of an ORGANIZATION, click HERE 
as an INDIVIDUAL, click HERE  

Deutsche Bank

Jacques Brand
Chief Executive Officer of North America, Deutsche Bank

 Eliseo Medina
International Secretary-Treasurer, SEIU

Parkin Lee
Senior Vice President, Chief Legal Officer & Secretary, The Rockefeller Group


 Lifetime Achievement Award
Robert Morgenthau
Former Manhattan District Attorney

Héctor Figueroa, 32BJ SEIU
George Gresham, 1199SEIU
Jay Hershenson, City University of New York
Grace Lyu-Volckhausen, Tiger Baron Foundation
Kathryn S. Wylde, Partnership for New York City 


130 Bowery
New York, NY 10013

NYIC Staff at Builders of the New New York Awards 2013

Past Builders Honorees

Davis Polk & Wardwell, LLP
Ricardo R. Fernández
President, Lehman College, CUNY
Richard C. Ianuzzi and Maria Neira
President and Vice President of New York State United Teachers (NYSUT)

Cristóbal Conde
Former President and CEO, SunGard
Robert Greifeld
Chief Executive, the NASDAQ OMX Group, Inc.
John B. King, Jr.
Commissioner, NYS Department of Education
Jose Antonio Vargas
Founder, Define American
Estela Vazquez
Executive Vice President, SEIU Local 1199

Marcos A. Rodriguez

Managing Member, Palladium Equity Partners
Joseph J. Salvo
Director, Population Division, New York City Department of City Planning
The Honorable Thomas R. Suozzi
Former County Executive of Nassau County

Hector Figueroa

Secretary-Treasurer, SEIU Local 32BJ
Jay Hershenson
Senior Vice-Chancellor for University Relations, City University of New York
Kathryn S. Wylde
President and CEO, Partnership for New York City

Alan Aviles, LaRay Brown, and Michael Stocker

New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation 
M. Patricia Smith
Solicitor of Labor, US Department of Labor
Congresswoman Nydia M. Velazquez
U.S. House of Representatives

Wyclef Jean
Musician and Humanitarian
Margie McHugh
Co-Director, National Center on Immigrant Integration Policy, Migration Policy Institute
Lin-Manuel Miranda 
Composer, “In the Heights”
Mort Zuckerman
Publisher, The New York Daily News 

May Y. Chen
International Vice-President, UNITE HERE!
Frank Flores
Vice President, Spanish Broadcasting System
Michael Posner
Human Rights First

Napoleon Barragan

Chairman & CEO, 1-800-MATTRESS
Nelson Castillo
President, Hispanic National Bar Association
Jackie Elias and Lisa Philp
JP Morgan Private Bank
Diego P. Recalde
Chair of the Board, New America Alliance Institute



Honorees and NYIC Leadership 2012




 Past Sponsors
The NYIC would like to thank our major sponsors for their generous contribution: 

Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP  
The City University of New York
Ernst & Young  
James S. and Merryl H. Tisch Foundation
Latino Commission on AIDS
New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation
New York State United Teachers
Open Society Institute
Palladium Equity Partners
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, LLP
Tom Suozzi
Tiger Baron Foundation
United Federation of Teachers
Western Union

 For sponsorship opportunities, click here


Builders of the New New York Honorees, presenters, and NYIC Leadership during the 20th Anniversary celebration  


Comedian Hari Kondabolu performs at the 2011 Builders of the New New York Awards


Guests enjoying entertainment during dinner service


Past Co-Chairs & Speakers

Honorable Michael Bloomberg Mayor of New York City
Maria Castaneda - Secretary-Treasurer,1199SEIU United Healthcare Workers East
Héctor Figueroa - Secretary-Treasurer, 32BJ Service Employees International Union
U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand - The United States Senate (honorary co-chair)
Matthew Goldstein - Chancellor, The City University of New York
Betsy Gotbaum - Former New York City Public Advocate
Jay Hershenson - Senior Vice-Chancellor for University Relations, CUNY
Marc Z. Kramer - Former New York Daily News CEO
Grace Lyu-Volckhausen - President, Tiger Baron Foundation
H. Carl McCall  - Chairman, Board of Trustees, State University of New York
U.S. Senator Charles Schumer - The United States Senate (honorary co-chair)
Thomas Suozzi - former Nassau County Executive
Merryl Tisch - Chancellor, NYS Board of Regents
Kathryn Wylde - President and CEO, Partnership for New York City
Cong. Nydia Velazquez - United States House of Representatives (honorary co-chair)

Ballet Folklorico Mexicano de Nueva York

Past Entertainment

M.A.K.U. Sound System
Ballet Folklorico Mexicano de Nueva York
The Cimarron Project - 
Afro-Cuban ensemble
Joe Standart 
- Photographer Portrait of America
Arturo O’Farrill and the Afro Latin Jazz Ensemble -
 Grammy-Award winner and founder
Wyclef Jean - Musician and Humanitarian (performance)
Red Baraat - Bhangra-Funk Band (performance)

Red Baraat




Download PDF
Download PDF
Download PDF
Download PDF
Download PDF
Download PDF
Download PDF
Download PDF
Download PDF


 Rss Feed    Site Map    Terms of Use    Feedback    Contact Us